My Vegetarian Grocery Shopping List

breakfast 1

As a vegetarian, a common question I am asked is, “What do you eat?” Since I eat a number of different things throughout the day, it can be hard to narrow it down and answer that question on the spot. It’s kind of like when someone asks, “What kind of music do you like?” Most of us listen to so many different kinds that it can be hard to choose an answer.

Because asking what vegetarians eat is a common question, I thought it would be helpful to create a sample vegetarian grocery list. As someone who has been eating food at a college campus dining for the past few years, I am still learning what kinds of foods to buy and what kinds of meals to eat at home. Because grocery shopping often requires one to have a budget in mind, I like to organize the items I want by category. My main categories are: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Snacks. Here is my sample shopping list:

Breakfast:

  • Oatmeal
  • Green Tea
  • Apples
  • Bananas
  • Peaches
  • Almond milk
  • Granola
  • Eggs
  • Raisin Bread

Lunch:

  • Salad
  • Brown Rice
  • Beans
  • Quinoa
  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Tofu
  • Avocados
  • Cheese
  • Veggie Chick’n Patties

Dinner:

  • Spaghetti
  • Veggie Burgers
  • Green Beans
  • Potatoes
  • Peas
  • Carrots
  • Peppers
  • Corn
  • Chickpeas
  • Cauliflower

Snacks:

  • Rice Cakes
  • Raisins
  • Crackers
  • Peanut Butter
  • Pistacios
  • Granola Bars

Naturally, these categories can overlap. I also wouldn’t necessarily get all of these things in one shopping trip. It’s just an idea of the kinds of things I might buy for the week. If you are a vegetarian, or would like to be one, I hope this list is helpful for you.

#Food, vegetarian, food blogs, healthy

 

 

One thought on “My Vegetarian Grocery Shopping List

Leave a Reply

