The Truth About Modern Racism

Some people believe that racism

No longer exists

Because they themselves don’t practice hate

They have friends who are minorities, and therefore don’t discriminate

.

They look around at their brothers and sisters

Who share their privilege

And see that they are not racists

So, in their eyes, there is no racism here

.

And yes, perspectives have changed

As police brutality has been brought to light

As new news to the media, but old news to us

This is the worst, and yet our issues go further

.

As a person of color

I know that if I had been born a few generations earlier

I would have been a slave

That fact rests in your subconscious from a very early age

.

I know in the back of my mind

That in the present, the ripples from our history remain

And I know that I am less likely to get the job

And I am less likely get accepted in my school of choice

.

The same way I know that as a woman

I am less likely to get the higher paycheck

And I am less likely to get the job as a CEO

These facts do not hinder, but still they remain

.

And because movements for equality

Such as feminism and LGBT Pride

Often leaves people of color off to the side

By failing to give them representation

.

This is not a placement of blame or an accusation

I just know I’ve read that trans women of color

Suffer too much violence and discrimination

Yet their voices are not heard more often

.

I can enjoy the most popular movies and YA novels

And be part of a passionate fandom

While knowing the heroes and heroines I admire so much

Will probably not look like me

.

And it may seem trivial to complain about a movie

But we live in a world of so much diversity

It’s a shame we don’t see more of the diverse beauty

That exists in varying degrees of cultural identity

.

No person of color is unaware

Of the fact that we don’t have true equality

I am aware that I have been blessed with opportunity

But this is not true for everyone in my community

.

The truth is, there is a struggle for every minority

We know that we do not yet have true equality

The point is not to draw a line that divides you and me

But for everyone to become aware of this reality

.

Minorities are not meant to be tolerated

This world is not merely the property of the majority

This world was made for all of us, we all belong here

To live in harmony, to have equality, and to live without fear.

.

#Poetry

 

 

 

One thought on “The Truth About Modern Racism

  1. I agree with you. To stop racism is a unstoppable battle that must be fought and not be forgotten. People forget too quickly. Equal rights and freedom for all people was a hard fight. Never won because today many freedoms were lost without a fight.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

