Arrows: Part 3 of 4

Julia and Bonnie sat on a wooden bench in an old jail cell. They were locked in by metal bars. Their feet rested on a dirt floor as Bonnie slouched against the stone wall. Even in this situation, Julia sat with perfect posture.

“This is all my fault.” Bonnie said. She buried her face in her hands. “I’m so sorry. I never should have convinced you to leave the Castle.” Julia shrugged.

“Don’t be silly. You never could have predicted that we would be mistaken for wanted thieves and thrown in a jail cell.” Bonnie sighed.

“I’ll go call the guard.” She said. She got up and walked over to the metal bars.

“Why would you do that?” Julia asked. Her friend gave her a confused look.

“Once you tell them you’re the Princess, they’ll let us go.” She said. She tucked her unruly hair behind her ears. The guards took her hat when they put her in the cell.

“I can’t tell them that. It will ruin tomorrow’s ceremony. Instead of welcoming their new Queen, the whole kingdom will be talking about how I got myself arrested and neglected my duties to go sword shopping.”

“I guess I hadn’t thought of that.”

“But then again, if I don’t make it back to the Castle by sunset, I won’t have time for my dress fitting. I also need to rehearse again for the ceremony.” Julia said. She took a breath and tried to stay calm. Bonnie nodded.

“Okay then. Don’t you worry. I’m going to get us out of here.” She said. Her voice was confident.

“How are you going to do that?” Bonnie smiled a sly smile.

“Archery is not my only skill, you know.” She reached into her boot and pulled a small knife out of its sheath. “This little guy has always been there to help me out in tough situations.”

Julia laughed.

“How many tough situations have you been in?” She asked. Bonnie began using the knife to pick at the lock.

“Like I said. You spend too much time in the Castle.” She played with the lock for a moment until she heard a click. “Got it. Remember, this door is squeaky. Once it opens, the guards are going to come running. Are you ready?” Julia stood.

“I’m ready.” Bonnie opened the rusty gate and it made a loud squeak.

“Come on.” She said.

“Hey! What’s going on down there?” A voice called from down the hall.

“Run.” Bonnie said. She grabbed Julia’s hand and they ran down the opposite end of the hall.

“Where are going exactly?” Julia asked. Bonnie ran faster, tightening her grip on Julia’s hand.

“I can’t believe I’m saying this, but first we have to rescue Freddie.”

“Rescue? I thought they just put him in the stables.” Julia said.

“They did, but I overheard one of the guards say that they’re planning to sell him. They think he belongs to notorious criminals, he would be worth a fortune.” They made their way outside to the stables where they found Freddie. Bonnie used her knife to pick the lock and set Freddie free.

“Get them! The criminals are escaping!” The female guard called. She stood in the doorway of the jailhouse as the male guard caught up to her.

“What do we do now?” Bonnie asked. Julia adjusted Freddie’s saddle.

“We ride.”

“But I’m not any good at riding horses.”

“Then I guess you have to learn a new skill. Come on.” She hoisted herself onto Freddie’s back and yanked Bonnie onto the horse with her.

“Stop!” The male guard yelled. He ran toward them with a sword in his hand.

“Yah!” Julia yelled. Freddie took off. He galloped across a dirt road and headed toward the forest. The protests of the guards faded into the distance as the sound of hooves and rustling leaves echoed through the forest. They kept going until they no longer heard the voices of the guards. Julia gave the reins a light tug, making her horse slow down. “Are you okay?” She asked Bonnie. Both of them were still trying to catch their breath.

“I’m fine.” She said. She held onto Julia’s waist like her life depended on it. They continued riding through the forest at a slow pace. Julia stroked Freddie’s mane. She leaned forward to whisper in his ears.

“Good boy. I’ll give you sugar cubes when we get back home. I promise.” She said. She turned her attention back to Bonnie. “It won’t be long before they come looking for us on horses of their own. Is there anywhere we can go to throw them off trail?” Bonnie bit her lip and tried to think.

“Um, yes! There is actually. Do you remember when we were younger, and we snuck away from the palace guards to find the waterfall with the rainbow?”

“As I recall, that was also your idea.” Julia said.

“Hey, that was a good day. Anyway, there’s a cave behind the waterfall.”

“That’s right! They’ll never find us there.”

“But can we get there from the forest?”

“I think so.”

“They went this way! Come on!” A guard called from the distance.

“Uh oh. We’d better move fast.” Bonnie said.

“Yah!” Julia yelled. They galloped away again.

.

#Fiction

Leave a Reply

