Young Heart

I had a young heart that

Fell in love before my

Mind was ready to. I

Sank into the depths of

.

Your eyes and felt it in

My blood that you and I

Were soul mates. I dove

Right into the waters of

.

Your delectable embrace

Only to realize that I had

Already drowned. And

Even as I traced your name

.

Into my palms at night I

Knew that I had lit a flame

That I wasn’t ready to sustain

Because Darling you have to

.

Learn to walk before you can

Run, and in your arms my

Heart ached to fly. And I was

Swallowed by a beautiful

.

Fear at night. And it led me to

A voice that let me know I

Wasn’t doing you any favors

By staying. My sense of reason

.

Refused to stay buried any longer

My heart exploded for you like

Fireworks, only our sky wasn’t

Big enough. I loved you but my

.

Love affair with freedom hadn’t

Ended yet. But I’ll never really

Be free. A part of you will always

Be a part of me. Your ink has

.

Stained my story. But don’t worry,

I mean it in a beautiful way. And

All the beautiful scars that remain

Will never run out of things to say.

.

#Poetry

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

