Sometimes I get anxiety. About the future, about my career, about my love life. At 22 going on 23, I’m at that pivotal point in life where it feels like I’m starting over. And starting a huge journey from the very beginning is never easy and always daunting. But maybe I’m not starting over, maybe I’m just building on all of the things I have already accomplished.

I have to constantly remind myself that taking small steps makes a huge difference. I see the milestones that my peers reach and I’m afraid of falling behind. Or maybe everyone else is doing life right while I’m just…not. I have to remind myself that it’s not a race.

I set a goal for myself each day, and so far it’s helped me to achieve some really cool things. I’m trying new things, doing what I love and making progress. Yet, I still have moments where I worry about the future and feel the need to plan everything out. But the truth is, I achieve more when I let go and realize that the present is where the magic happens. It’s better when I take life one day at a time.

I’m going to be okay. And you are, too. We’re in this life together. Each of us has a purpose and something to contribute to the world. Even if it’s just a smile. Even if it’s just humble words.

Sometimes we have anxiety and we’re depressed and we’re lonely. But that’s okay. Because things will get better. And as long as we take things one step at a time, we’ll be just fine.

Leave a Reply

