Today is my birthday. I am now 23 years old. As I look back on the past year, I think of all the milestones I’ve reached. Graduating college, self-publishing my first books. I felt a lot of pressure at 22 to get my career on track right away and to do all the things I thought you were supposed to achieve by that age. When I graduated, I was in a perpetual state of feeling like I was behind everyone else.

I realize now that the little things have made my journey what it is. Having time to write, spending time with my family, finding inner peace, and taking things one day at a time. My journey doesn’t look like anyone else’s and all our paths are unique.

I’ve felt happy, sad, lonely, excited, scared, hopeless, lost, and hopeful. I’ve had good days and really bad days.

22 was a year of trying new things. I learned basic coding, taught myself a bit of sign language, learned to play chords and write songs on my keyboard, made art, danced and did yoga, did some baking, took driving lessons.

I’ve learned that I value simplicity. And that small goals really do add up to amazing things. I don’t know what to expect from this new year in my life. All I know is that I’ll take things one day at a time, do things that matter to me, and hope that it leads me somewhere good.

.

#MyThoughts

Leave a Reply

