Cold, Dark Emptiness

Fear swallows me like a black hole

Sucking my strength into the cosmos

Washing away my progress the way

Saltwater washes blood from your

Wounds. I am left to heal in a vacuum

In a space that can’t stay empty for

Long, and so it is filled up with tenacity

And grit. But I say, “No more. I am tired

Of trying.” I look around at the stars and

The endless blackness that blankets them

Even in the midst of cold, dark emptiness,

They shine on. Their light is radiant and

I think to myself, “I wish I could be like them.”

.

#poetry

 

4 thoughts on “Cold, Dark Emptiness

Leave a Reply

