Fire

I don’t want to play with fire

Am I wrong to get so caught up

In the things that scare me away

From you? This has to be right. I

.

Want to do this right. Love slips

Through my fingers like smoke,

Like an elusive ghost; I need you to

Bring me to life, but don’t get too

.

Close in case this isn’t right. Where did

I go wrong? When did the poetry intertwined

With my heartbeat become constricting, my

Anxiety and neurosis preventing me from

.

Giving you my time, my affection, my body

One wrong step, one wrong move, I’m so

Afraid of the tiny mistakes that I never take

The big risks. Who are you really? Let me uncover

.

Your truths, untangle the mystery of what our

Future looks like. They say to trust your instincts

But I’m not sure mine can be trusted. They set off

Alarms with every new door that opens. And I

.

Freeze, pause, helpless over my fear of fire. The hell

With it. Touch me, press my back to the wall

Your lips, your touch, your heat, let it cover me

Let the fire I’ve feared for so long consume me.

Leave a Reply

